Four Core Middle School Program Components

To help students effectively learn and apply the skills, attitudes, and behaviors taught in the Second Step middle school program, teachers should implement the four core program components: (1) Teach all the lessons in order; (2) Teach all lesson parts as written; (3) Reinforce lesson skills and concepts; and (4) Inform parents and caregivers about the program.

Four Core Program Components

The more exposure to the skills and concepts in the program, the better students’ chances of achieving behavior and attitude change. The Second Step program provides many additional lesson sections to increase students’ exposure to program skills and concepts and support students’ ability to generalize the skills and concepts to the rest of their school day and at home, including Reflective Writing Assessments, Additional Practice Activities, Academic Integration Activities, and homework.

Middle School Levels and Themes

Middle School Levels and Themes The Second Step middle school program has three distinct, developmentally appropriate levels, one for each of the middle school grades. Five main themes are interwoven throughout the lessons at each level:

  • Empathy and communication (all grades)
  • Bullying prevention (all grades)
  • Emotion management (all grades) and coping with stress (grades 7 and 8)
  • Problem solving (grade 6), decision making (grade 7), and goal setting (grade 8)
  • Substance abuse prevention (all grades)

Grades 6-8 Scope and Sequence 

G6_scope_sequence.pdf G6_scope_sequence.pdf
Size : 181.341 Kb
Type : pdf
G7_scope_sequence.pdf G7_scope_sequence.pdf
Size : 182.962 Kb
Type : pdf
G8_scope_sequence.pdf G8_scope_sequence.pdf
Size : 181.567 Kb
Type : pdf

Second Step Middle School Complete Review of Research

This free website was made using Yola.

No HTML skills required. Build your website in minutes.

Go to and sign up today!

Make a free website with Yola